Acid Heroes

May 30, 2009

Six of one, half a dozen of the other

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 9:12 pm
Tags: , , ,

front coverGo straight to the buy-it page

Six of one, half a dozen of the other
by Ace Backwords

I don’t think there’s ever been a book quite like it. Where someone uses these pop culture icons as reference points for a memoir. The only slightly similar book I’ve ever seen was by this Beatles fan who framed his childhood and young adulthood along with the new Beatles albums he was listening to at the time. It was pretty light fare, mostly comparing his evolving hairstyles with dem Beatles. But I think that was the book that planted the seed in my mind. I almost wish I had stuck to that format; cutting out the other acid heroes and just concentrating on my on-going and life-long obsession with the Beatles and how it impacted on my development at different stages. One of the keys to whether the book works will be how smoothly the transitions work between where I’m writing about the pop culture guys and then writing about my own life. Probably some will like half of the book and dislike the other half. And vice versa.

‘Course, plenty of people will dislike the whole thing.

Video Bonus! Uncle Juan reads from Acid Heroes on YouTube!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

