Acid Heroes: the Legends of LSD

October 20, 2012

How I got hooked on them feral cats

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 8:07 pm
Tags:

I never considered myself a pet person.  Never wanted to own a pet.   It was purely an accident how I got hooked on them feral cats.

 

I used to feed the bluejays  at my campsight every morning, throw out a bunch of bread for them.   One morning as I was leaving my campsight I noticed this cat eating some of the bread.  It turned out these three feral cats had been sneaking into my campsight after I left and eating the leftover bread.

As fate would have it, about a week later they just happened to be giving out free samples of cat food on the Ave.  So I grabbed a bunch of samples and brought them up for the cats.  I didn’t have a cat dish so I left the cat food on a piece of cardboard.  The next morning I noticed the cats had  not only eaten all the cat food but they had eaten half of the cardboard that had been soaked with little bits of cat food gravy.  “Man, them cats are hungry!”  I thought.

So I got into the habit of leaving them cat food every morning.  At first they would sit at the top of the hill about 100 yards away from me and wait for me to leave before they dared come down for the food.  But gradually over time they got more bold and inched closer and closer to my campsight.

One of the cats was the most bold and assertive.  He was always the first to the food and the other two waited behind him until they were sure the coast was clear.  Gradually he started coming right up to me as I was serving up the cat food.  He was mostly black with some white, obviously the leader of the pack, so I named him King Cat.   He was also the smartest.  He would sit on the other side of the creek and watch me for long periods of time like he was studying me.  He had a slightly owl-ish face which gave him the air of a wise old man.  A real cosmic cat.  I could tell he had accepted me.  He’d give me this look like:  “Yeah, this set-up is OK with me.  Free food every morning.  I’m throwing my lot in with this guy whoever he is.”

Whereas the other two cats, talk about scaredy-cats, if I made the slightest move in their direction they would bolt straight up the hill like they’d been shot out of a cannon.  The second cat (they always came down in order) was an all-black cat who I named Joe Panther.  The third cat, the most timid and the most beautiful, was this mostly white with some black number who I named Blondie.

They were really more kittens than cats, maybe about 9 months old.  I had spotted a dead cat on the side of the road about a week earlier.  She was probably the mother cat, scrounging for scraps in the garbage cans to bring back to her litter and she probably got hit by a car.  So now them feral kitties were on their own.
Ace Backwords's photo.One morning I was surprised to notice that King Cat was on the other side of the creek getting fucked by a feral tom.  I guess I should have named her Queen Cat.  Shortly after that Blondie got pregnant and had her first litter.  Mysteriously, the other two cats disappeared right after Blondie had her kittens.  Cats are pretty sophisticated when it comes to spacing themselves, and territorial pissing and all that.  They have all sorts of cat rules and regulations as to who can hang out where, so I always wondered if the other two cats had volunteerally moved on to make room for Blondie and her brood.

At any rate, I didn’t see King Cat or Joe Panther for about a year.  I always wondered what happened to them.  Its a tough life for a feral cat, even in the hills with plenty of squirrels, birds, mice and insects to feed on

Then one night I scored a big platter of baked salmon that had been left over from some catered event.  It was a huge, half-eaten carcass.  The next morning I brought it out for my cats, Blondie and her three kittens.  And I’ll be damned but who shows up out of the blue but King Cat and Joe Panther.  I don’t know if they had just happened to be passing by or if they had smelled the salmon from a long distance away and decided to pay a visit to their old haunts. But there they were, looking healthy and happy.  They helped themselves to the salmon, gorged themselves on it.  And then trotted off into the woods never to be seen again.

.

.

Image may contain: cat, tree, plant and outdoor
Like

Like

Love

Haha

Wow

Sad

Angry

Comment

Comments
Ace Backwords
Write a comment…

Keef spots a rascally squirrel.

Image may contain: cat
Like

Like

Love

Haha

Wow

Sad

Angry

Comment

Comments
Dan McMullan
Dan McMullan looks like a painting!

Ace Backwords
Write a comment…
My twin feral cats This is one of my four feral cats. She’s sitting on my chest on top of my sleeping bag. She’s getting mildly annoyed that I’m not getting up and fixing her br…
ACIDHEROES.WORDPRESS.COM
Like

Like

Love

Haha

Wow

Sad

Angry

Comment

Comments
Ace Backwords
Write a comment…
Like

Like

Love

Haha

Wow

Sad

Angry

Comment

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

