Acid Heroes: the Legends of LSD

November 5, 2012

Feral Tom

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 10:17 pm

.Image may contain: plant, cat, outdoor and nature

.Image may contain: tree, plant, sky, outdoor and nature

..

Image may contain: plant, cat, outdoor and nature
Image may contain: cat, tree, plant, outdoor and nature

Blondie and Feral Tom — two of the most feral of my feral cats — always keep a respectable distance between me and them.

.

I managed to pick up yet another feral cat.  Number five.  The last thing I need.  I’m already spending 50 to 100 bucks a month on cat food, but its hard for me to resist a hungry cat.

.
He’s a black and white feral tom who I cleverly named Feral Tom.   He looks remarkably like Moo Cat (probably because he’s the father).  He’s been around for years, but he usually only came around  for only a couple days at a time when the females were in heat.  All my cats would immediately freeze whenever Feral Tom showed up, like when the neighborhood bad ass hits the scene.   Feral Tom is incredibly stealthy and cautious veering towards total paranoia when it comes to human beings.  He always keeps a distance from me.  And he walks almost in slow motion, usually walking one step at a time:  takes a step, stops and freezes, takes another step, stops and freezes, staring at me the whole time with a piercing expression.  Its almost like he’s walking on tip-toes — the classic cat burglar moves.  Literally.
No automatic alt text available.

He’s an incredibly stealthy feral tom.  Which is why I cleverly named him Feral Tom.

At first he would wait until I left my campsight before he would dare make his way to the cat food dish to scarf down whatever leftovers my cats had left behind.  But lately he’s been getting more bold.  He does that cat hypnotism thing where he sits 20 feet away from me and stares at me with that pleading “FEED ME FEED ME!!” expression.  One thing I’ve learned from my feral cats is how much hunger is a primary factor of life.  Not just our hunger for food, but all the various other hungers we’re driven towards.  It makes you wonder how much of our behavior is merely shaped by the compulsion to satisfy our hungers.  I see it with the totally feral cats.  The risk/reward thing.   Its almost like they measure it down to the slightest inch in their cat brains.  As they inch closer and closer towards me. How much are they willing to risk getting close to me, for the possible reward of being fed.
No automatic alt text available.

Feral Tom making his move n the direction of the cat food dish.

 

 No automatic alt text available.
.No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
Image may contain: cat and outdoor
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
Image may contain: cat and outdoor
Image may contain: cat and outdoor
Image may contain: outdoor
No automatic alt text available.
Image may contain: 1 person
No automatic alt text available.
Image may contain: 1 person
Image may contain: 1 person
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
No automatic alt text available.
Image may contain: 1 person
Image may contain: 1 person, outdoor
Image may contain: 1 person, standing and outdoor
.
.
.
.
.
.
2 Comments »

  1. Hi…they are really adorable. I have a colony of cats that all started out feral, but now range from the “I’ll come near you” to “Ok, but only while I eat ” to “I hope you don’t mind if I rub against your leg while you put that food down for me and if you do it NOW…you can pet me while I eat,….BUT DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT PICKING ME UP!!! to up in your face….”pet me, pet me, pet me..OMG I can’t believe I waited this long, Can I sleep on the bed now?” like right next to your head???
    and I can vaguely remember the days when I spent just $100 a month for food. I probably spend about $500 a month on the 25 I feed. I started with 1 feral female, then when she realized that I was OK and a FOOD source, started bringing her litters up to the bushes near the house and then eventually under the house. The next thing I know there are like 15…now 25. When we hit 15….and they seemed to be living past the 3-8 month mark that had been set…(we live on 10 acres and as you are well aware of–coyotes galore), I was told about the TNR program that would help us trap the cats and get them fixed. YAY!! we live in an outlying area of the town where this agency was so I started volunteering for them. I trapped, transported, bottle fed, fostered and adopted probably over 1000 cats in the 6 years I was with them. himce, where the other 20 came from. And of course, the reward of feeling like a hero to a homeless, orphanded, or abused cat is the heartbreak of losing one that you bottle fed every 2-3 hrs for 4 weeks. We honestly have really had all together 50-60, but with coyotes, rattlesnakes, and FIP, there seemed to be a rather high attrition rate.

    Ok so I should probably stop, sorry I got longwinded there. I have 6 wonderful years of stories. and could probably tell you about some little quirky personality trait on EVERY cat we’ve had here. Enjoy your little friends, be well.

    Comment by Raven Rose — November 6, 2012 @ 12:22 am | Reply

    • I appreciate the comments. I could relate to every word.

      Comment by Ace Backwords — November 6, 2012 @ 8:40 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

