Acid Heroes

February 24, 2014

Life is a playground

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 7:42 pm
Tags:

 

 1654123_829143727103172_325719949_n.jpg
I’ve turned into a total recluse lately. I’ll go 2 or 3 weeks without talking to anybody. Today I went to the park, and I was shooting hoops by myself as usual, when these three little kids came up and asked if they could play with me. Ages 5 , 6 and 7, I’d guess. I said sure

We went two-on-two. It was a helluva’ game and I got in a good work-out (I sweated off two pounds). Most fun I’ve had in a long time.  They were small, but really quick.  I had a hard time keeping up with them.  After the game ended we all high-fived. . . . Though I’m still slightly pissed my team lost 10 to 8 .

They were too small to dribble the ball much. They mostly just ran with the ball (I was a big enough man not to call double-dribble on them). But this one kid could really shoot. He was deadly accurate from about 2 or 3 feet from the basket. They must have been in the 1rst or 2nd grade. The kid on my team, he was the smallest and maybe was still in kindergarten. So we were at a disadvantage. But I think if we get a rematch we can take ’em next time!

I was trying to show off by shooting 20 foot jumpers. I had been nailing them consistently earlier when I was warming up by myself. But during the game I kept throwing up bricks. Guess I choked when the pressure was on. But in my defense, its the first actual basketball game I’ve played since 1993. So I was a little rusty.

Those kids, they really reaffirmed my faith in humanity.  There’s just something so pure about kids.   They remind me of my feral cats.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

