Acid Heroes: the Legends of LSD

April 7, 2014

David Letterman nostalgia

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 7:24 pm
.
 .

.

1982030_857971707553707_5053833051171772318_n.jpgThey announced the other day that David Letterman would be retiring.  And for me it was another one of those  “MAN I CAN’T BELIEVE HOW FAST THE TIME FLIES BY” moments . . .
.
The other guy, Jay Leno, had just retired last month.  I remember back in 1976 reading this issue of HUSTLER (for the articles, natch). And it had a big article about the “new and up-and-coming comedians.” And one of the baby-faced comedians featured in the article was a guy named Jay Leno. And it doesn’t seem like that LONG ago that I was reading that article.
.
And I remember when Letterman was the fresh-faced new kid on the block, too. And that doesn’t seem like all that long ago, either. And now, all of a sudden, these up-and-comers are already over-and-gone. Sheesh.
.
For a lot of the years that I was doing my Twisted Image comic strip (1986 to 1995) I had a nightly ritual where I’d sit down at the drawing board and start drinking coffee around midnight, turn on Letterman at 12:30, and draw away all night long with Letterman on as background noise. I remember that period as kind of peaceful and cozy.  And I liked the feeling of being up late at night while everyone else was sleeping.  Projecting my mad schemes out on the world while the world was asleep and defenseless to prevent it . . . . In retrospect I wonder if any of Letterman’s humor seeped into my comics by osmosis.  
.
And I always liked Paul Shafer and the band.  I’m sure playing in that band was the dream job for a lot of the rock musicians of my generation.  …..
.
Anyways, I  pretty much did that every night for about 3 or 4 years.   Until 1991 when I threw my TV set in the garbage and never watched TV ever again. Deciding that alcohol and drugs were a preferable way to ruin my mind.

.

No automatic alt text available.
 
1 Comment »

  1. I feel the same way. I go back with Dave to the beginning…I even saw a few episodes of his morning show, and was completely baffled by what was going on. I’d give a lot to go back to those days when he was fresh and new, when every night was a surprise, and I’d hurt myself laughing.

    Comment by jaybone — April 16, 2014 @ 11:34 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

