Acid Heroes

May 5, 2014

Age

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 6:51 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

 

I was thinking how significant one’s age is.  For example, when they mention somebody’s name in the newspaper one of the first things they usually mention is the person’s age.  “So-and-so, 48” or “So-and-so, 27.”  So I guess it’s one of the defining characteristics, maybe even moreso than race or sex.

One phrase that always annoyed me:  “It’s just a number.”  While I can appreciate the sentiments (“You’re only as old as you feel”) one’s age is a LOT more than “just” a number.  Your age not only reflects your geriatric situation, it also reflects the generation that you came of age with.

Ace Backwords's photo.
I distinctly remember the heavy symbolism every time my age hit a new decade.  My 20th birthday party when a friend said:  “No more teenage wasteland.”  And all the ramifications of that.  I remember writing an editorial when I turned 30, oddly titled “Turning 30.”  Speculating on all the significance of that.  It was like the warm-up period of my 20s was over and now it was time to get serious.

Now, at age 57, I’m actually looking forward to turning 60.  Just so I can get it over with.  “OK, I’m 60.  I’m officially old.”  Rather than still be on the fence at 57.  When I turned 50, I was still in vigorous health and I didn’t feel  much different than in my 30s.  But at 57 I notice a significant difference.  The inevitable signs of “old man” syndrome.  After a relatively light physical work-out I’ll feel exhausted; aching muscles, the whole bit.  I’ll lie down and then when I stand up I’m not sure if my legs are gonna buckle underneath me.   Along with the realization:  “It’s no longer about getting into BETTER shape.  But just slowing the rate in which my health degenerates.”

I remember when I first jumped deeply into the Punk Rock scene in 1982, at age 25.   Most of the punkers on the scene at the time were high school age, 17, 18 to early 20s.  So, at 25 I remember feeling for the first time being on the other side of the generation gap, re Youth Culture.  Five or six years can make a big difference at that age.  One of the reasons I was so fascinated with the Punk Scene was because I was madly in love with this woman, age 26 who had recently “gone punk” and was going out with this high school punk kid, age 16.  So that was a minor scandal at the time.  (And in a related aside, regarding the “underage” thing, the “It’s-just-a-number” defense holds zero weight with a judge in a court of law).

I remember there was this guy on the scene at the time, Tim Yohannon, age 35, who was one of the self-appointed “leaders” of the Punk Scene back then.  I remember it was a regular topic of discussion:   “What’s with this creepy old guy who wants to hang out with high school kids all the time?”  Oddly, Yohannon ended up dying at age 52 in 1998. But now when I look back at it from my perspective at age 57, 52 seems amazingly young!   So I guess I’m the creepy old guy now.  Its all relative, I guess.  Age.  Relative to a lot of different things.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

