Acid Heroes

July 28, 2014

OPINIONS!!!!!!!!

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 8:35 pm

I got addicted to expressing my opinion when I was doing a daily comic strip.  Every day I’d be wracking my brain trying to come up with some sort of interesting slant about life.  And I think one of the unhealthy bi-products of that was this compulsion to constantly express my opinion.

Which, face it, is not necessarily always a winning character trait.  At least I rarely do it in real life (as a registered Republican living in Berkeley I learned the folly of expressing opinions that don’t go along with the status quo).  But I tend to do it a lot on Facebook and my blog.  I figure if anybody has a problem with my opinions it’s pretty easy to unfriend me or tune out my blog.  So it’s not like I’m up on a soap box on a street corner, ranting at strangers.

Generally, I try to be respectful with how I voice my opinions.  Especially when it comes to hot-button issues like immigration or Israel/Palestine or just about anything to do with “race.”    Except when I’m drunk.  In which case I start to throw in a lot of “fucking-stupid-idiots-don’t-know-what-the-fuck-they’re-fucking-talking-about-the fucks.”  (I don’t know what it is about alcohol that makes the word “fuck” such a conversational necessity.)

One of the peculiar things is how so many people make absolutely no distinction between their “opinions” and the “truth.”  They really think they’re one and the same.  And these types often get violently angry when someone expresses a dissenting opinion.   I guess because they consider it a personal challenge to their sense of reality.  I make that mistake sometimes myself.  Which is why I always try and make of point of peppering the statement “that’s just my opinion” whenever I’m actually expressing my opinion.  As sort of a disclaimer.   Just so it’s clear that it is in fact “just” my “opinion.”

One of my favorite book titles was “Everyone Is Entitled to My Opinion” by the TV guy David Brinkley.  Too bad I didn’t come up with that one.  I’d have loved to use it for one of my books.   Too bad such a great title was wasted on such a crappy book.  Well, that’s my opinion anyways.

And I guess this is my opinion about opinions.

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

