Acid Heroes

September 19, 2014

The Eucalyptus Grove

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 7:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

·

No automatic alt text available.
Whenever I come to the Eucalyptus Grove on the Berkeley campus I always have a weird acid flashback to 1993.  At the time, I used to like to take LSD and come out here with my guitar and sing my weird songs to the cosmos.

I had this stupid idea back then of recording an album of original music.  It was going to be my psychedelic masterpiece.  I planned on calling it “Private Pepper.”   As sort of a pun.  Because I was aspiring towards that psychedelic Beatles sound.  And because my music had been a private little thing with me that I rarely shared with the public.  This friend of mine had built a home-recording studio with an 8-track reel-to-reel tape recorder and DATs and all kinds of amazing toys.  So we recorded 12 of my hit songs.  And he added all sorts of amazing psychedelic effects.   And I swear to God, if you took enough drugs it actually sounded like music.

But anyways, I was remembering one haunting song I used to sing here in the Grove back in the olden days of 1993.  It was called “We’re Never Coming Down.”  Because that was one of the stupid things I aspired to back then.  I believed that the psychedelic state was this expanded level of consciousness.  So I wanted to permanently attain that state.  “To get high and never come down,” as Richard “Ram Dass” Alpert used to put it.

.

Course it didn’t occur to me at the time.  The other side of the bargain.  That you could get high and never come back down to earth.10646860_971336962883847_1347131507328244288_n.jpg

.

.

.

.

.

 

1 Comment »

  1. that Grove is an amazing place, I used to go there and smoke herb every day and feed the birds. It got to the point that when I would step foot in the grove a bunch of sparrows would fly and ladn right in my path expecting some bread crumbs or what ever else I had. The Grove is a very spiritual place.

    Comment by obadiahorthodox — September 19, 2014 @ 7:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

