Acid Heroes

December 15, 2014

The secret life of cats

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 9:01 pm
Tags: , ,

 

Blanket-hoggin’ Moo Cat.

Sometimes I think them feral cats at my campsite have me hypnotized.

Take Blondie.  I’ll sometimes wake up in the middle of the night.  And Blondie will be sitting there about 5 feet away from me, directly across from me, just staring at me.  Then, when I wake up in the morning, there she is, in the exact same position, still staring at me.  I’m an interesting person.  But I’m not that interesting.  I can’t help wondering what she’s doing while she’s staring at me.  Putting me in some kind of voodoo cat trance or something.

Or take Moo Cat.  She likes to sleep with me at night, often right on top of me, curled up amidst my blankets.  Lately, I’ve been using three blankets to sleep in (some asshole stole my sleepingbag).  It’s a little sketchy, but if I set the blankets up just right, it’s a serviceable set-up in terms of keeping warm.

So anyways, I wake up last night around 2 in the morning and I’m shivering my ass off.  I realize I only have one blanket that’s barely covering me.  The temperature is in the low 40s, so that blanket feels about as warm as a dinky kitchen towel.  I look over and there’s Moo Cat curled up alongside me, huddled on top of my other two blankets, sleeping away peacefully.

It’s kind of like one of those deals where your wife has pulled all the blankets over to her side of the bed.  The problem is, I can’t pull my blankets back without waking up Moo Cat and disturbing her sleep.  And she looks so peaceful sleeping there.

So I turn over on my side and just sort of shiver through the night.

I swear those cats have hypnotized me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

