Acid Heroes

August 19, 2015

Other homeless people

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 8:22 pm

Some guys never quite get the hang of “no-trace camping.”

My friend Blue used to say :  “The worst thing about being homeless is other homeless people.”  It can seem that way sometimes. This guy spent 3 days camping near my campsite.  And this is just SOME of the garbage he left behind. It took me 3 hours and 3 trips to the dumpster to clean up all of his crap.  Adding insult to injury, it had rained so his junk was all wet and covered with mud.

I’ve spent over a decade sleeping outdoors.  And I’ve never had any problems with cops, neighbors, merchants or security guards, etc.  But I’ve had CONSTANT problems with other homeless people.  They make loud commotions that draw cop heat.  They trash out the scene with their garbage.  They steal stuff from my stash spots.  They even sometimes attack me physically.

When I was younger I used to feel more of a sense of camaraderie with my fellow “street bros.”  But nowadays, when I see another street person headed towards my campsite, all I think is:  “Fuck.  Here comes trouble.”  Bro.

.

.

.

.

.

.

1 Comment »

  1. Most are not homeless by choice, just generally bad decision making. They burn every bridge by a sense of entitlement & infantile attitudes regarding social services, along with serious substance & mental illness. & there they are, wreaking havoc in the streets. This wasn’t such a problem when the state run mental institutions were still open.

    Comment by Jon — August 21, 2015 @ 11:05 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

