Acid Heroes

March 18, 2016

Life is a burlesque show comedy

Filed under: Backwords from Ace — Ace Backwords @ 12:16 am
Tags: , , ,

.

12391938_1278520862165454_2600224355966671421_n.jpg

Laugh and the world laughs with you.  Cry and the world laughs at you.

I don’t know who’s bright idea it was to stick this sign right in the middle of the pedestrian lane, and right at head-level.
But at least twice  I was walking down the street with my head down, and whacked my head directly into that damn sign.  Knocked my baseball hat off my head and almost fell down.  It was a direct shot to the noggin’.

Even worse is the reaction of the people watching.  Because they couldn’t help laughing at me.  It looked so goofy and ridiculous after all.  This hapless dunce walking head-first into an over-hanging sign.  And you know exactly what they’re thinking:  “Did you see what that fool just did.  HE HIT HIS HEAD!! HAW!! HAW!!”

It’s a classic scene right out of burlesque comedy.  And part of me even gets a perverse kick out of the whole thing.  I’m an entertainer at heart.  So if I added a little entertainment to somebody’s dull day with my hapless pratfall, well, that’s a good thing.

I always go back and forth in my mind as to whether life, at root, is a comedy or a tragedy.  I always wonder what I’ll be feeling on my death-bed.  Will I be crying my ass off at the whole miserable tragedy of my life?  Or will I be laughing my ass off at the whole cosmic goof of it all?

I guess I’ll find out eventually.

.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

