Acid Heroes

March 7, 2017

It’s funny the things you remember. . .

.17098008_10154571744113983_8228207509643938589_o.jpg

.

Yesterday somebody posted on the internet this cover from an old issue of Twisted Image from back in 1982.  And so I was looking at it last night.  And it’s funny the things you remember . . .

The thing I remember from that period. I was so broke I couldn’t afford the real Letra-set type fonts for the headlines. So I made xeroxes of the fonts from a sample catalogue. And cut out each individual letter and glued them on the paper to make all the headlines. Ha ha. Sheesh.  (If you look closely you can see the letters aren’t lined up exactly straight.)
.
And whenever I look back at my past I’m always struck by how fast it all went by.  It’s like, one moment you’re in the middle of this dynamic scene.  And then the next moment, you blink your eyes and it’s all gone.  It’s all ancient history from a bygone era.
.
Whenever I think of the past, I always get this image in my head of this train that’s behind me, barreling down the tracks in reverse.  And every day the train gets farther and farther behind me . . .   There goes 1982, barreling down the tracks.  And all the people, places and scenes from 1982 keep getting farther and farther away from me.  Until  finally they all vanish from view and are gone.  Just like entire civilizations have come and gone and are now completely forgotten.  Just like entire Universes disappear in a blink of an eye.  Swallowed up by the endless expanses of Eternity . . .
.
And yeah, I also remember those Letra-set xeroxes.   3-cents a copy back in 1982 . . .
.
.
.
..
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

